Stuff, Stuff, and More Stuff

If you know me, you know I don’t need anything. But, as a life long antique collector it is so hard to break the habit. Even with the addition of things from Mama’s house and a truck load of stuff sent to be sold in Little Rock my sickness continues. I am still looking and finding and searching for stuff. I went to help unload a cabinet at Crystal Hills Antique Store and ended up buying a department store shoe display. Why, you asked? Well, I have a small one and they are really neat. AND I have Mama’s and TeeTee’s alligator shoes from the 1940’s. Perfect for displaying family shoes. They told me back then the alligator dscn0688shoes cost $100 a pair back then. I have been looking for one chair for my living room. I have been in 20 different furniture stores and couldn’t find anything under $500.00 that I would have. I found a heavy black and red chair that was only $80.00 that went perfectly where I needed it. At the antique store across the road I found one of those Victorian watercolors I collect. It is the side view of a lady in a hat. Different and will be an added item in that collection. Yesterday, on the way home from Searcy, I hadn’t planned to stop in Beebe at the antique shops, but I did. I found a red Viking sandwich plate for only $10.00. What a steal! Unused complete with label. It matches all my red glass dishes. The dinner plates are now $35.00 if you can find them. I found some craft beads for an artsy thing I’m planning to do, a glass paper weight for only $5.00, a wooden table small art easel for a painting, a set of doll furniture chairs and a table to do petit point on, a cut crystal plate for $2.00, a crystal tooth pick holder for $3.00, several small cheap frames to do watercolors in, and a brass Victorian frame for only $7.00. I, also, found a  metal cross for Mrs. Barbi’s office. All  weren’t needed, but were so cheap I couldn’t resist. After 9 months of doing, cleaning out, remodeling, repairing, and cleaning out Mama’s house I can start my retirement and can be creative again.

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

