The Last Three Weeks

dscn0689-2dscn0691dscn0692dscn0693dscn0695dscn0696dscn0698dscn0701dscn0703dscn0704The last three weeks, for me, has been a very stressful and emotional time.  You know my mother died in May right before school was out and I was retiring from Sacred Heart. Well, we sold the house and to make a very long story short, our plans were for a company to take ALL of the items in Mama’s house to Little Rock to sell fell through. Complications arose and that didn’t happen. We had four weeks to get rid of 88 years of EVERYTHING in Mama’s house. So, with a lot of help from my sister-in-law, my brother from Forrest City, and lots of friends, we had a three week sale. There was so much that we had to clear out the furniture first to be able to get to all the rest. Multiple numbers of tables and rack had to be brought in. Signs had to be made. Everything had to be priced. We moved some items six or seven times as we were getting rid. Of course, we took what we wanted.  Since I had been remodeling and cleaning out I tried to be very selective. I swapped two tables, got grandmother TeeTee’s china cabinet, got two lamps that I already had the match to, got the dining room chairs that had needlepoint seats, a couple of pieces of crystal that were sentimental, the recipes, and several small items. Over the weeks little things came in and now are just part of my house. It was a sad time, but I thoroughly enjoyed being with my SIL and my friends. The all helped me get through the memories and bad times. As my brother said, “We grieve and remember in different ways.” I am still going through the process, but everyday is getting easier to accept our loss.

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Last Three Weeks

  1. Barb Connell says:

    Dot is smiling down , knowing that you have some of her things in your house!! Her memory lives on😊❤️
    Did you find her oat bran muffin recipe…lol
    That was always hard to get😊😊

  2. Wendy Drew says:

    Sorry for the loss of your mother.

Leave a Reply

