I Got Home to a Big Surprise

When I got home from my fast and furious trip to Huntsville, AL yesterday, I found a big surprise on the studio tables. it was a boxed set of Farberware red patterned knives. I was thrilled. There are only two people in the world that I thought that would ever do something like that.  The box says that the 11-piece cutlery set comes with a cutting board, 5 knives, and 5 sleeves. They are made of high carbon stainless steel for strength and durability. They are stick resistant with a coating that limits food from adhering to the blade. They have ergonomically designed handles for comfort while

cutting. The blade covers protect the blade edges and provide safe storage. And they are RED with wonderful patterns. Little kitchen pieces of art almost too pretty to use.  The person that gave me these knows that I cook and enjoy cooking. I don’t warm up or microwave prepackaged food. I cook. I bought on old sewing machine base with a cedar primitive top at the Sacred Heart yard sale years ago. It is in the middle of my kitchen with 90% of my kitchen cooking utensils in containers. I love it. I can reach

anything working at the sink or stove and it is so handy unloading the did washer. When we were cleaning out my mother’s kitchen I only found 4 things that I didn’t  have. They were a strainer, a pierced spoon, a potato masher, and a wire whisk.  I thought that was great that I had collected cooking utensils for 30 years and I almost had everything that my mother, the great cook that she was, had after cooking for 68  years.  One of the things I bought at Mama’s estate sale was a marble cutting board. I have really enjoy that, too. Now to thank a good friend!dscn0764

 

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

