My Glass Menagerie

As I was cleaning and straightening today, I noticed my glass ball paperweight collection. I have added several in the past few months. I took a picture and then thought of all my clear glass collections. I have the small desk size glass balls, crystal eggs, cut tooth pick holders, big glass balls, and then of course, I have a lot of crystal in several cabinets. I have always like crystal serving pieces, because they go with everything.  So, here are a few pictures of my glass menagerie.dscn0778dscn0779dscn0781dscn0783dscn0786dscn0787

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Glass Menagerie

  1. Deb says:

    Beautiful glassware!

    • Jim Gatling says:

      When I cleaned out my collection in the spring I sent 150 pieces of antique glass, cut crystal, and pressed glass to the estate sellers in Little Rock. He moved and hasn’t been able to sell it yet. When my mother died suddenly in May we had to clean out her house. She had tons. I only took 2 pieces of her crystal. For me to keep her two big pieces I had to take 3 pieces of mine over to the sale. I really had to work at not filling my house back up. LOL!

      • Deb says:

        Hubby and I go at the end of the month with my other three siblings to clean out my Mom house. Can’t imagine what we are going to find ,and know what to do with it all. Like you my house is small so I can’t bring to much stuff back. 🙂

  2. Pat Starks says:

    Wow!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. Jim Gatling says:

    Sometimes it is wow. Sometimes it is over whelming. LOL!

  4. Jim Gatling says:

    My advice to you is take a deep breath and think before saying anything. And remember you have memories. You don’t need a lot of stuff to remember. The “personal stuff” will never be equal. There is always someone that “needs” items. The “need” part was always strange to me. If you “need” something, why didn’t you go out and buy it. Oh, a funny….. A friend of mine told me when the kids went into their mother’s house after she died, they found sex toys. LOL! As soon as I told that story to the family they all agreed that we would go through EVERYTHING before we did anything else. And throw away things we did not want to divide or sale. LOL!

  5. Your glass collection is beautiful!! I too love cut glass and crystal. If we lived closer we could get in a lot of trouble antiquing!!!!!

  6. Jim Gatling says:

    Yes we would! I bought several pieces this week at Tulsa for Easter presents. I sure don’t need them. LOL!

Leave a Reply

