See Ya later, Alligator

Years ago my mother gave me two pairs of her alligator shoes and one pair of my grandmother TeeTee’s alligator shoes. Later, Mama gave me  a 1940’s -50’s alligator clutch. She told me that the shoes cost $100 way back then. I have had some of them out on antique shoe stands in the back bedroom for years. When we cleaned out her house this summer, I got the other two purses that matched the other pairs of shoes.

When I had gone to Little Rock the other day and shopped at the two antique malls at Crystal Hills I found a tall shoe stand from a department store. It was walnut and needed some tender loving care. I really cleaned it, used a rubbing dark stain on it and wiped it down. After it dried I put it in the back with the other shoes and purse. I think it is kinda neat that it looks like what a department store window would have been in the 1940’s.

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to See Ya later, Alligator

  1. Lauren Hill says:

    I never cease to be amazed at the way you can look at an object and see the possibilities. I love the way you have incorporated the shoe stand into the décor. I would not have recognized that possibility.

  2. Jim Gatling says:

    Thank you for the kind words. I have been called “an organized antique hoarder.” I have worked about 6 months trying to make my house easier living since I am retired now and need places to create and work on different things. My house is really full, but livable.

Leave a Reply

