My Great Adventure – Part 1

photo

Beth and Carol playing in the trash can at the Maplewood Cemetery in Harrison.

When my life was so hectic a couple of months  back my dear friend, Beth, told me that when things settled down she and Robert were going to take me on a “Great Adventure.” Well, things have not really slowed down, so we just fit it in. Carol was home from Virginia and Robert is her cousin, so we all went Saturday. We left at 9:30 and picked up Carol at Addie’s apartment in Clinton, where Carol was kitten sitting “Otis Redding.” We traveled all through north Arkansas to places I never new existed. We went to Harrison, Jasper, Leslie, Low Gap, Boxley, Roark Bluff, and Steel Creek. We went so many places I’ll never remember them all. We saw a camel, snake, a llama, herd of elk, deer, cows, black cows, white cow, brown cows, and mixed cows, motorcycle gangs, motorcycles in trees, Dogpatch, stacked rocks by a stream, tons of traffic and the beautiful Ozarks. We ate lunch, I think, at Low Gap and had dessert late at Leslie. On the way home the moon was full and huge in the cloudless sky. I got home at 9:30. It was a wonderful day with friends and it was a “Great Adventure.”  Of course, my camera is shot, so I didn’t get a good picture of Robert.

 

dscn1188  dscn1157

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

