Making Costumes……… Again

paigeWhen I left Morrilton High School I basically knew I was finished with making costumes. I made so many, and helped so long I was inducted into the Arkansas State Thespian Hall of Fame for my contributions to the drama department.  Well, it has been a decade since I have made costumes. Last month Mrs. Barbi’s young’un, Paige and her friend-boy Seth were going to a toga party at college. Mrs. Barbi asked me to help Grandmaw Peggy make them togas out of T-shirts. Toga making goes aways back. Well, we tucked and pleated and gathered and pinned and sewed until they were both covered up enough to go out in public. Paige made the wreaths and belts. I thought they looked cute. thumbnail_photo5

Yesterday morning, a former student had called and wanted help in making a Halloween costume. She wanted to go as a deviled egg to work. She works in scrubs, and wanted it to be functional and easy for the work day. She bought a white T-shirt and some yellow felt.  I cut out her pattern and she drew her egg off in fabric black pen. Then I cut out the felt and fused it on. Didn’t take 20 minutes. She has devil horns to wear with it. Cute idea. Now I am going to wait another decade before I have to make any more costumes. LOL!

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

