Bargain Clothes Shopping

dscn1462I can remember as a kid I was bigger than my older brother. So, I probably didn’t wear hand-me-downs. But, in college I found the Salvation Army and Goodwill in Conway. I have been shopping at those kinds of places since 1969. I had to have old clothes when I worked at Silver Dollar City, and I was getting dirty and oil on me everyday, so second hand clothes were ok. While I taught high school and helped in the drama department I was always shopping at those places for costumes. I realized that there was always good, clean clothes cheap for big men. I have gotten many a wardrobe from those great places.

Mrs. Barbi to me that Stephanie had a new booth down at Debbie’s flea market on the main drag downtown. Well, sir, I raced down there to be the first to get all the good bargains. Well, not really, but I did go the day Barbi told me. Stephanie was there. Debbie was there. Debbie had just caught someone shoplifting on the camera. Not a good thing to do in Debbie’s store.  There are cameras in every booth, people. Remember: Thou shalt not steal, Stupid! Now Mrs. Barbi had told me to go and go the Stephanie’s booth. “Precious” just put in some of her samples and some fat shirts. When I got there, there were  six XXL shirts for $3.00 each. $18.00 for six shirts. Nothing wrong with any of them. All bright colors and looked like new. So, of course I got them. Now I have a new spring wardrobe thanks to friends. I got some Christmas stuff, 6 stained glass window figures, a stained glass lamp shade, and a couple of other things. Always good to visit with friends and get things cheap.

dscn1463

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

