The Group Group Met at My House

My sewing group that used to be called the Beaders  is now the Group Group. No one could come up with a name, so that is how I have it in my group contacts. I told everyone several months ago after all the dust settled around here that I would have everyone for a meeting. We usually do sandwiches, but I insisted on making lunch. I did a cold plate with chicken salad, chips, crackers, relish tray,  deviled eggs, stuffed celery, and made 4 batches of cookies: oatmeal raisin pecan, pecan cinnamon, sugar sprinkles and sugar cinnamon chips.  Well, sir, not everyone could come. One was sick, one was caring for a sick cat, one’s garage door wouldn’t open and she couldn’t get out to bring her mother, and another one had a stroke. I told Pat and Mary Lou when they got here that life gets in the way of our living. Now, I perfectly understand. We have been close for 20 years, but as time goes on we can’t do as we have done in the past. I laughed and told Pat and Mary Lou that I really need to get younger friends. LOL! I have just really thought about Evelyn and her being in the hospital. Her stroke really got to me which has made me think of Mama. I know that Evelyn is in God’s hands and that he will know what’s best.dscn1356

Since they haven’t been here in over a year they toured the house and got to see all the remodeling and the new items from Mama’s house. We really had a great visit. We had a wonderful meal with Halloween decorations. They ate, so I guess it was good.

The three of us had show and tell. Mary Lou brought her emameling from her craft retreat and her two finished quilts. They were both BEAUTIFUL!!! Pat brought her two new embellished pin cushions and a German framed original she found at a sale, a the most wonderful cross stitched picture of her husband, Richard. A woman in France that reads her blog did it as a surprise and it took her a year to do. It was fantastic. Pat was so please. I just showed them the  Devil Dog cow bells I was painting as a fundraiser and my 3 quilt tops I am working on. It was really a good day and we had a blast. dscn1335

 

 

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Group Group Met at My House

  1. Brenda Wall says:

    I miss the Group Group. Sometime if y’all don’t mind let me know and maybe I could come for a visit.

Leave a comment