Thanksgiving Cactus Shrimps

A couple of years ago I asked my mother to find me a pink or red Christmas cactus. Mine had died a long hard death. I just wanted a start and she came in one day with a bushel basket one. I took it to school and had it on the computer table by the window for 2 or 3 years. I brought it home and had to bring it in on that first chilly day. I put it in the window above my sewing machine. Well, sir, it’s in full bloom again. The tips start off with a tiny green bud very quickly they form the fluffy shrimp-colored bloom. In a couple of days every bloom will open and it will be a sea of fluffy shrimps. I wish I knew who gave her the cactus. It has really been an easy plant to keep.

Oh, when I was in Pine Bluff Saturday Liz and I drove up to the antique store where she was looking to buy a table and I found a big metal and glass terrarium.  It was really a good deal and I decided I wanted to try my luck at starting seeds and small plants. My friend Gary in Tulsa has little miniature plants he is growing. I am going to get with him and see what we can come up with for me to try and grow. Fun!!

 

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

