AR Quilters Guild December 2016 Meeting

 

We had our annual, well sorta annual, Arkansas Quilters Guild auction and Christmas party last week. Well, I wasn’t going to buy anything. Yeh, right. I did bid on 3 things. And I got three things. Three pricy things. BUT, I wanted them one for a gift and the others for me. The first thing I got was a quilt wall hanging designed by Wilma Richter, quilted by Marilyn Weaver and finished by Bo Mittelstaedt.  I have never had a quilt by Marilyn. I have always wanted one of hers. I do have one from Wilma. It’s bright and different blocks and really quilted in a great manner. I was so thrilled to win the bid. It is going to hang in the kitchen on the door going into the dining.  The other thing I got for me was a hand knitted afghan. I thought it was crocheted, but two people told me it was knitted. It is mainly white with black and dark red. It has black fringe on it. Judy Ricter made it and she described it as: Beautifully knitted, cozy afghan.  Measures 50 in. by 64 in.  White background with a black and dark red inserted periodically.  Short edges are scalloped and fringed.  I had been wanting one to cover up in my recliner, but it had to go on and match my couch. It is perfect and the pattern is beautiful. And it is now a new family treasure. The other thing I got was a wooden church birdhouse. This is what Pam Brown had to say about the birdhouse she donated:  This church birdhouse looks like many of the old country churches. My dad, Clem Watson, builds birdhouses and other items in his workshop.  He is a 90 year old Marine Veteran who retired from the Pine Bluff Arsenal as a fireman.  He retired early due to the loss of an eye; but, remained active working as a carpenter and cabinet maker along side my granddad who was a Master Cabinet Maker.  Dad had a hernia repair in March and due to the hot weather he hasn’t spent much time in his shop the last few weeks.  I hope whoever wins the bid on one his treasurers enjoys it as much as he did making it. Pam Brown.   It was great food, fun fellowship and an interesting auction. Loved it all.

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

