Mary Jane’s Japanese Maple Trees

About 20  years ago I was at Mary Jane’s in NLR and she gave me a clay pot with several starts of her Japanese Maple Tree. The all came up as volunteers in the pot. I planted all of them in and around the front yard. Only two survived. Last year when the big pine tree on the side of the house was struck by lightning they had to move one to get to the pine down. I never thought it would live through the hot summer, but it did. The bigger one is closer to the house and has really grown this year. I never realize what a beautiful color it was until today. I guess it has been worth mowing around for the last twenty years. Such a rich orange-red color. Thanks, Mary Jane. Every time I see it I think of you!

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

