Potato Pancakes

When I had eye surgery, Debbie told me that she wanted to make me something. I asked her did she have her mother’s recipe for potato soup. I told her, her mother’s was the best I had ever had. She said she had her own recipe and wanted me to try it. Well, sir, it was great. Thick and chunky. She brought over cornbread, and cheese and bacon to go with it. It was wonderful. But, she brought over a huge amount. I had had it 2 times. I didn’t want to waist the leftovers. I got up one morning and decided that I wanted to try and make potato pancakes. Mama always made extra mashed potatoes, so we would have potato pancakes for breakfast.  The soup was so thick I added a touch of flour and an egg to help bind it together. I got some vegetable oil hot in a skillet and spooned in towcakes. I added a touch of salt and pepper. I drained them on paper towels to get rid of the excess grease. I had some leftover gravy and  heated it up with them. They were so good and they brought back so many memories. Thank you, Debbie!

 

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

