AQG Live Auction

 

dscn0969Arkansas Quilters Guild held their live auction and Christmas party last week. The first thing I bid on and got was a quilt wall hanging designed by Wilma Richter, quilted by Marilyn Weaver and finished by Bo Mittelstaedt. I have never had a quilt by Marilyn. I have always wanted one of hers. I do have one from Wilma. This one is bright and different blocks and really quilted in a great manner. I was so thrilled to win the bid. It is going to hang in the kitchen on the door going into the dining.

I bid on and got a hand knitted afghan. Judy Ricter made it and she described it as: Beautifully knitted, cozy afghan. Measures 50 in. by 64 in. White background with a black and dark red inserted periodically. Short edges are scalloped and fringed. I had been wanting one to cover up in my recliner, but it had to go on and match my couch. It is perfect and the pattern is beautiful.

I bid on and got a wooden church birdhouse. This is what Pam Brown had to say about the birdhouse she donated: This church birdhouse looks like many of the old country churches. My dad, Clem Watson, builds birdhouses and other items in his workshop. He is a 90 year old Marine Veteran who retired from the Pine Bluff Arsenal as a fireman. He retired early due to the loss of an eye; but, remained active working as a carpenter and cabinet maker along side my granddad who was a Master Cabinet Maker. Dad had a hernia repair in March and due to the hot weather he hasn’t spent much time in his shop the last few weeks. I hope whoever wins the bid on one his treasurers enjoys it as much as he did making it. Pam Brown.

 

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

