The Hated Task of Ironing Linens

For all my meals and dinner parties I use linen or cotton napkins. I have stacks of napkins. I have collected them for years. And if you have them, why not use them. Most people don’t know how to eat without getting it all over themselves. The reason is they eat in front of the TV and use their shirt as napkins. Well, I have discovered that when you sit at a table with people at a meal, time slows. You eat slower and therefore, you don’t make a big mess.  A cloth napkin is to wipe the lips of  non-deposited food particles. They are not to wash the face, take off lipstick or blot  lipstick.  Try to get ruby red lipstick out of a white linen napkin. One of the last things I do after I clean up from a dinner is wash the napkins. I spot them with Resolve and then if it is bad I pour Tide on the Resolve, and rub it in a little. I wash on warm water. I check to see if all the grease and lip prints are gone. If not, they go back in the washer with more stuff. If they have poly in them they go into the dryer on low. Now for ironing: I never iron right after I wash. So, I lay the wet napkins out and stack them then I roll them and put them in a plastic bag and put in the refrigerator. That gives me up  to three days to iron them. When I iron I use an old white fluffy towel and iron from the back of the napkin. That way I don’t smash the embroidery. I do not iron them dry-dry. I iron them our on my couch and lay them out to air dry. Then I stack and put them in Ziploc bags to keep them flat and together. I know it is work, but I enjoy doing it.

 

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Hated Task of Ironing Linens

  1. Mr. G, I find few things as pleasant as ironing vintage linens…there is such a difference in an ironed napkin, etc., after a good wash and Iron. I LOVE the smell it gives the room….the way they look and feel after being ironed….everything about it. I know you love cleaning silver…I’d much rather iron vintage linens!!! ❤️ pat

Leave a Reply

