1890 Victorian Crazy Quilt

In November Roy Dudley had a sale in Pine Bluff. We were going to Pine Bluff anyway, so we went to the estate sale. I got a few things I posted in November, but I did not post any pictures of the 1890’s Victorian Crazy Quilt I purchased. It was an impulse buy, but I really liked it. There was so deterioration along the border. it had a 1st premium card from a county fair attached. It looks like the backing fabric was taken off at one time. I realized that it needed support and that I would put a backing and binding on it to save it. I picked up some black satin at Marshall’s and spent 3 days repairing it and getting it put together. There are some bad spots, but I think it was worth money and work saving.

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 1890 Victorian Crazy Quilt

  1. That is one gorgeous quilt. Often the makers did not put a backing on the quilt, but I prefer backings on mine. If they used silk it is going to shred over time. That process is called shattering and there is nothing you can do about it. Is there a date embroidered on it anywhere? The embroidery is very nice and you have an excellent example of a Victorian Crazy Quilt. Hopefully I’ll be back thru Arkansas sometime and get to see it in person. Put me in your will!!!

Leave a Reply

