My New Happy Halloween Quilt – Part 1

At the last AQG meeting Beverly gave me some scraps. In the bag was Halloween fabrics along with some others. I love Halloween and I love scrappy quilts. I decided I would use the purple black cat fabric as the centers of my sorta log cabin blocks. I used up all her fabric and gathered my Halloween fabrics together with some odd matching pieces.  I made the blocks up to 15 inches. They were plain so I did fused appliques and embroidered around all of them. When I put them down and scooted them together. It was just to busy. I decided to put black sashing and purple cornerstones to divide up the busy oranges. It

still wasn’t what I wanted. I finally put them on-point.  I liked it and now  I had to figure out how to fill in the side triangles. I cut them and sewed on an inner border and a double border. I put bigger appliques in those. I love drawing and designing appliques. The hardest thing is stitching around all those pieces with the button-hole stitch. I finished the eight side triangles and put them on. Well, hell! Now I have 4 corner triangles that have to have a single border on 2 sides and a double border on the bottom. It to me 5 hours and two phone calls to Theresa, an ex-student and retired math teacher to help me figure out how to cut the triangle. It too less time to make the four corners than figure the math. LOL! This is the finished  Halloween top that grew and grew.  What do you think????

 

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

