Sterling Surprises for June and Martha

dscn2123I was at a sale at Roy Dudley’s a couple of weeks ago. I found a  sterling silver spoon that had the word “June” cut out of the handle with a rose on the end. Well, I have a dear friend named June in Fayetteville. She’s always doing something for me. I decided it would be a great present for her.  When I got it home, I unwrapped in and looked at the bowl of the spoon. It had “Martha” hand engraved on it and the number “19.”  Well, sir, Blake’s god-mother is a Martha. I decided to make two surprises. I took it to Brook’s Jewelry in Conway . He told me it was real good and very old. The old hand engraving is so special now. No one can do it. All engraving is now done with a machine. They cut it into and put a bale on the “June” handle so June could hang it as a necklace drop on a chain, I had them take the “19” off, and curl the handle around so “Aunt Martha” could use it as a drop on a chain. I know, I know. I am so smart and generous. LOL!

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

