Two Good Estate Sales in Little Rock

Last Thursday my antique dealer friend called to see if I wanted to go early to stand in line for the opening of a sale done by the Pennsylvania Trading Company. There was something he wanted that was really priced so cheap he wanted to get there early, stand in line and run when the doors opened. We left Morrilton at 7:00 and were about the 9th ones in line. Big doctor’s house across from a country club. He went left and I went right. I knew where it was, because I saw it in pictures. It was in the dining room. I found it and snatched it up. I would have never bought it.  But, that’s why he is a dealer. He finds the bargains. I had seen silver goblets in the pictures. I took one of mine and they were not the same thing. Mine are sterling, those were silver plate. I went ahead and bought the nine for $5.00 a piece. I needed two sterling ones to fill in. The sterling ones would have been

$40 to $75. So, I spent $45 and have extras until I can find the two I need. I got some frames for $2.00 each, a pocket watch display cabinet that looks like the top of a grandfather’s clock. It was dove tailed and really cute. Two huge red ceramic pitchers for $6.00 each for Christmas presents, a crystal egg for an Easter present, Oriental dragon ornament stand, a ceramic strawberry tray, and a chimney for a lamp. It was only $4.00 and was tall. The last one I bought at a light store was $27.  Then went to Roy Dudley’s sale. Got there and had to stand in line. We were early. They opened and I found a bell pull, I showed it to my friend and he said, You are going to get it, aren’t you. I wasn’t paying attention. The whole thing was petit point. It was English flowers with a background of celery green. Very pretty. I bought some little wooden Japanese carved figures for $2.00 each, a silver master salt spoon, and a miniature cup and saucer. I love going to Roy Dudley’s sales. He really has a great way of doing them. The helpers are so friendly, and you see things you would never see. Love going. We got home right after lunch, so I had the rest of the day to sew.

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Two Good Estate Sales in Little Rock

  1. love the red pitchers and the bell pull!!!

    • Jim Gatling says:

      The bell pull was a great petit point find. Really pretty and done real well.
      I got the 2 red pitchers because they were only $6.00. one was for my friend Michelle for her Christmas present next year. She came over yesterday and I gave it to her early. Because I have no place to store it for a year.

Leave a Reply

