W.N.S. – February 22 – Oriental Rice

 

DSCN2396I remembered an Oriental Rice recipe that Blake’s mom used to make. I looked up the recipe and it was in her hand-writing. But, she told me later she got it from Mama. I fixed for W.N.S. Zoe brought over chocolate chip cookies. This week it was Maggie, Will, Bake, Cindy,  Uncle Stewart, Aunt Martha,  Zoe, Pete, Liz, Ben and Debbie.

Oriental Rice recipe:   (Serves 10)   1 1/2 lb. ground beef,  1/2 c. soy sauce,     1/4 cup Worcestershire  sauce, 3 c. pimento slices,  2 c. green bell peppers sliced, 1 c. of green onions cut in pieces,          one 16 oz. can of bean sprouts, one 19 oz. can of chunky vegetable soup, one 5 0z. can of water chestnuts, corn starch, rice.

Combine 1 1/2 lbs. of ground beef with 3 Table spoons of soy sauce and Worcestershire sauce and shape into one inch balls. (Or you can get a frozen package of plain meat balls and soak them in the sauces before cooking)

In large skillet brown meat balls and remove from pan. Reduce heat and add pepper slices and onions. Stir in drippings, cover and cook 5 minutes. Add bean sprouts drained rinsed in cold water, add vegetable soup, soy sauce, Worcestershire sauce, water chestnuts sliced, stir and meat balls. Heat and add corn starch to thicken with water and mix slowly. Stirring until it comes to a boil one minute. Serve over rice.

 

I went to Wally World late Tuesday night to buy the food. I had to double the recipe for 12. Found everything, and went to check out. Well, I waited in line and the man at the front kept holding up the line. His card didn’t work. He was getting really mad and said it was the third time his card didn’t work there. He said it works all over the  world, but not there. The man and woman behind him had 3 small children there were tired. It was 11:00 and there was only ONE CHECKER there. The manager came over and told me she could get me on line 3. Nope. She couldn’t check me out there. Someone was already clocked in on that cash register.  She told me I had to self check. I told her I wasn’t doing that. She said the girl would do it. I told her she would have to, because I wasn’t. It took her 20 minutes to do it, and she was supposed to know how. Long story short. It took me sooooooooooooooooooo long. Probably 45 minute to check out. If I hadn’t needed the food for W.N.S. I would have left my cart and walked out. I have done it before when they didn’t have enough checkers, and I’ll do it again. Stupid, stupid people

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to W.N.S. – February 22 – Oriental Rice

  1. Mikaltodd Wilson says:

    I absolutely love reading your post. You crack me up. I wish I could quilt.

Leave a Reply

