Roy Dudley’s Sale this Weekend

A friend asked me to go with him to Roy Dudley’s Estate Sales this weekend. I am on his mailing list and I saw all the photographs. It is a BIG sale and there is two buildings full. If you like “pretties” as my daddy would say, or collect, just like antiquing, this is the place to go. It’s on Cantrell in LR and is easy to get to. They are so helpful and nice. This week I took them a box of cookies I made.  Love going there. It is my outlet for my addiction: collecting.  My friend said, “Did you see the little marble-top doll wash stand?” Well, I saw it, but I didn’t look at the price. When he told me what it was, I decided it was going home with me. It fit right in in the corner of the living room next to the hall. I put with a little night light on it. Cute. I will refinish it later.

I found 5 toothpick holders, a wooden duck to wood burn, a Victorian girl trinket box, a vase of flowers with bird glass place card holder, 3 miniature brass angel candleholders, a pair of Fitz and Floyd reindeer candleholders that match mine, 3 frames, a carved rabbit to wood burn, and two sets of crystal salt and pepper holders.  People always ask why I buy little things that add up so much that I could have bought something nice at the large price. I buy all year for Christmas and other gifts and I have basically all the big stuff I can use. So, I just add to the collections and enjoy going. Thanks, Roy. I appreciate all the hard work you and the guys do. Glad you liked the cookies.

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

