W. N.S. April 19 – Meat Loaf

I wanted to cook meatloaf for W.N.S.   Myron Sweeden had the best meatloaf at the Better Burger. I loved the red glaze/sauce they always made. I couldn’t find Mama’s recipe, so I looked up Paula Deen’s on the net. Of course, I called Mrs. Rita to see if it was close to what that generation made. She said keep it simple with simple ingredients and it would turn out fine. So, I did. But, I had 13 coming for supper.  So, I made 3 big loaves out of 4 1/2 pounds of hamburger. Judy and Jeanie were my taste testers. I gave them some to try it out.

My Old Fashioned Meatloaf:     1 pound ground beef, 1 1/4 teaspoons salt, 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper, 1/2 cup chopped onion, 1/2 cup chopped bell pepper, 1 egg, lightly beaten, 8 ounces canned diced tomatoes with juice, 1/2 cup quick-cooking oats.  Topping: 1/3 cup ketchup, 2 tablespoons brown sugar, 1 tablespoon prepared mustard. Mix all meatloaf ingredients well and place in a baking dish. Shape into a loaf. Mix ingredients for topping and spread on loaf. Bake for 1 hour. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

What do you serve with meatloaf? I had mac and cheese, peas and mushrooms, fried okra, black-eyed peas, squash and onions, mashed potatoes, rolls, gravy and Aunt Martha made brownies. It was Ben and Debbie, Uncle Stewart and Aunt Martha, Pete, Beth, Robert, Blake, Will, and me. Then, Mama Zoe, Cindy, and Maggie came in after dress shopping in Little Rock. I really didn’t have much left. It was a fun night.

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

