The Fishing Cabin Quilts

DSCN2907I have a friend that has a fishing cabin. In Riley’s  three bags of scraps there was fishing, cabins, moose, landscape and woodland fabrics. I decided to try and make a table runner and a fishing wall hanging for their cabin. I ran out of black top stitch thread, so I had to stop and order some. I had fabric  still so I made some small table toppers.  I gave them to my friends as an early Christmas present. I hope they like them!

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Fishing Cabin Quilts

  1. Jan says:

    I wish I knew someone like you. Someone, who would see the joy and value in being creative.
    Not necessarily artistic, just willing to give something creative a try..
    A few years ago I started teaching myself patchwork, after trying and failing to
    get the adult education officers, and the international resource center to organise
    classes. Both of these organisations had advertised for people to come forward
    with ideas for adult classes, but dismissed my suggestion.
    Last year, I thought, I had finally found people who wanted to start learning
    but it didn’t happen. Always the same lame excuses.
    I’ve learnt a lot from good youtube videos, craftsy, and books.
    Jim, I came across your blog because I googled scrap quilts
    and felt a sense of joy looking at your work.

    • Jim Gatling says:

      Thank you. I have been teaching quilting my way for 40 years. Since I have an art degree my quilts have not been the norm. I love making things from scraps and leftovers. If you go back in my blog you will see 50 quilt tops I made in one year using scraps and leftovers. They are all not beautiful but unique and different. Just quilt. Make tops and send them out to be quilted.
      Just do it. Have fun. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

