The Silver Saga Continues & Fixing the Last Post

In the last post I talked about my altered art and paper collages I enjoy to make. I posted several pictures and they were there when  “published” it and when I went to the post the pictures were not there. So, go back one post and see the collages. I hope them bring a smile to your face.

Silver Saga Continues A couple of days ago Mama called and said she was bringing me over a piece of silver. It was a footed bowl that was in the box of silver she bought for me from the flea market on the way through Perry County. I think it had 14 pieces of sterling and silver plate serving pieces marked $20.00. I told her to offer them $18.00 and they took it. (About $1.15 a piece.) She liked the bowl and took it out and polished it sorta, and then decided she didn’t need it and brought it over. I cleaned it real good and put it with the rest.

The silver saga continues…Then about 2 weeks ago Judy & JoClaire were cleaning out & getting new carpet.They had a square silver centerpiece mirror that was etched. They had it in the original box, but one of the reasons they wanted to get rid of it was the mirror fell out and would not stay up with any weight on it. Well, I started to polish it and was fiddling with it, and I popped a leg off. I took it to James and Magie Jewelry and he said he would try to get it back together. Two days later he called and said it was ready, but with my busy schedule I just forgot until yesterday. I picked it up and it’s just like new! ! A lovely addition to the collection.

Well,the silver saga continues…. Zoe, my husband-in-law’s wife, and their daughter Blaire, and her son Knowlton called and came over last night. They brought me a huge silver punch bowl on a stand with a gigantic tray, huge ladle, and 12 matching cups, all in the original packing box. It’s really the size of a bushel basket!! They had only used it once and neither of them wanted to polish it or keep it stored. So, the deal is I have it and they can borrow it any time they want to. So, now to polish it all. It took me over a week to get my nails clean, so here we go again. Thanks, Mama! Thanks, Judy & JoClaire! Thanks, Zoe and Blaire!!!  Remember the Dick Tracy cartoon? There was a girl on the strip named Sparkle Plenty. I think that’s gonna be my new nickname.

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Silver Saga Continues & Fixing the Last Post

  1. Sally Burrup says:

    I covet your punch bowl set!

  2. Cynthia says:

    I have a love hate relationship with silver. I love it when it is clean and sparkling, but I hate to clean it with a passion. I have put some of mine in the closet because I don’t want to clean it.

    • Jim Gatling says:

      The closet is the worst place to put silver IF it is not cleaned and wrapped air tight. Most closets are cold and a tad moist and that makes silver turn fast.
      I wrote a column for the aheadlight years ago about the care and cleaning of silver. I’ll try and find it and post later. Oh, email me your address and I’ll send you those “M” brass napkin rings. You cna give the to her for Christmas…………………..

  3. Patricia Eaton says:

    Mr. G….in your future I see another giant estate sale looming….let’s say in a year or two. Just saying…….pat

Leave a comment