Restoring Vintage Pin Cushions

April 020I have had a couple of vintage metal pin cushions for a while.  You know if I get something that needs fixing or restoring or redoing, I try to do it as soon as I can. Well, these got put back and nothing happened. I found them and decided to make the pin cushion part red velvet on both. But, as usual in my house it took longer to find the fabric than to redo the pin cushions. It was fun and easy. I took the old cushions off measured them and got mat board. Cut the mat board, cut batting and then cut the velvet fabric big enough to be pulled and hot glued on the back. Did that and then had another round mat board to cover the bottom. I think they turned out neat. They’ll go back in the back bedroom with the vintage pin cushion collection.pin cushion 1April 020

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment